Permissible Arms

Book Review: War, by Sebastian Junger

Posted in admin, afghanistan, american media by Karaka on 7 June 2010

I’m delighted to announce that my book review of Sebastian Junger’s War has been published at Small Wars Journal:

On May 21, 2010, I saw Sebastian Junger speak on the subject of his book War. It was standing room only, with several servicemen and women present; but the audience was mostly older folks. The parents of Private Misha Pemble-Belkin, one of the soldiers Junger writes about in his book, were present that evening, and Junger took care to welcome them. It was clear from that moment on, even before his reading or before I had the chance to read the book, that Junger had written about people who had come to mean a great deal to him. To understand that is to understand the impetus of his account.

More at Small Wars Journal. With thanks to Bill and Dave for all the effort they put into SWJ!

If you find SWJ as rewarding a resource as I do, I hope you’ll take a moment to consider contributing to the Small Wars Foundation. SWJ is holding a fundraising drive until July 4th; the goal is to reach $50,000 in user contributions. Keeping SWJ in operation is a worthwhile goal, one I hope you’ll join me in pursuing.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. onparkstreet said, on 7 June 2010 at 15:06

    Hey, saw it there too! Nice review, Karaka.

    (I agree about SWJ – I’ve contributed some. It’s a nice resource. Hope to see more from you over there :) )

    – Madhu

    (It’s kind of a nice community that’s developed around some of these COIN blogs, eh? Off-spring of Abu M, I suppose :) )

    • Karaka said, on 7 June 2010 at 17:13

      Cheers, Madhu! I hope to contribute more.

      The community, for all its bickering, is one of the best parts of this discussion.


Leave a Reply

