Permissible Arms

A little bit of renovation

Posted in admin by Karaka on 9 May 2010

When I started this blog last year, it was kind of a notepad for my thoughts and responses to all the things I had been reading. It’s turned out to be a really valuable experience, connecting me to a remarkable community of people. But I never actually titled this blog, because, well, it wasn’t necessarily something that needed a title.

So instead of just using my name, I though I’d invite opinion as to what I should use as a title. A little bit of crowdsourcing, hey? I’d really appreciate your input.

I pulled the ideas from some quotes I liked from a few dead guys, but I’d welcome other suggestions too.

  • You say it is the good cause that hallows even war? I tell you: it is the good war that hallows every cause. –Friedrich Nietzsche
  • It is clear that war is not a mere act of policy but a true political instrument, a continuation of political activity by other means. –Clausewitz
  • War is just when it is necessary; arms are permissible when there is no hope except in arms. –Livy (Iustum enim est bellum quibus necessarium, et pia arma ubi nulla in armis spes est, in the Latin.)
6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] vote in my poll, would you please? Tagged with: afghan people, afghanistan, checkpoints, convoys, escalation of […]

  2. Eric C said, on 10 May 2010 at 19:00

    Frankly, I like the name as is… I voted for the third opt.

    • Karaka said, on 10 May 2010 at 20:34

      Well, that one is currently in the lead! I figure I’ll leave it open for the week, see what comes out of it and decide then.

  3. onparkstreet said, on 11 May 2010 at 13:21

    I like Karaka Pend best :)

    – Madhu

  4. onparkstreet said, on 11 May 2010 at 13:22

    Okay, that’s not helpful, I guess By Other Means if you want a change.

    – Madhu

    • Karaka said, on 11 May 2010 at 15:42

      It’s only the title that’s changing! Everything else will stay the same. I was just thinking, Karaka from “Insert Title Here.” Rather than “hey that person over there.” But if popular opinion sways, maybe I’ll just leave it as it.

      It’s nice to see you around again, Madhu.


Leave a Reply

