Permissible Arms

And then they’ll make more news.

Posted in afghanistan, africa, american media, japan, united nations by Karaka on 6 May 2010

As a follow up to yesterday, Okinawans respond to PM Hatoyama’s walkback:

Mr Hatoyama made a fundamental mistake by promising something he knew he couldn’t do. He did that just so that he could win the election. He misled the people of Okinawa, he raised their expectations, he gave them an empty hope.

Relocation might be an option, but the problem is that no-one will accept a US base relocating to their backyard. For instance, the government proposed relocating part of the base to Tokunoshima island and there was an outcry from the local population who refused to accept it. A relocation is not going to achieve anything, it will only antagonise a different group of people.

I do think Hatoyama has lost a good chunk of political credibility. It’s a shame, considering he’s viewed as the ascendancy of the DPJ. They’re off to a rocky start.

Things I’ve been reading:

And I’ve been finishing up my March/April Foreign Affairs; it’s remained readable despite its unfortunate whiskey incident:

But I’ve been engrossed in other things and hadn’t gotten around to it. Next up, the whiskey free May/June FA. (Stupid Foreign Policy still hasn’t shown up. That is the single most delayed paper mail subscription I’ve ever had.)

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alec said, on 9 May 2010 at 01:02

    Next up, the whiskey free May/June FA.

    Having failed in a whiskey [1] free Lent, I am managing to foresake it until Pentecost.

    [1] Preferred tipple Bushmills, so it is with an E.

    • Karaka said, on 9 May 2010 at 10:34

      I’m a Jameson girl myself. Don’t hold it against me.

      Actually I have many a well-loved whiskey, depending on the type and the locale, but Jameson is a perpetual favorite.

  2. Alec said, on 9 May 2010 at 12:38

    I’m a Jameson girl myself. Don’t hold it against me.

    That’s Catholic whiskey, as McNulty almost said.

    I once spoke to a genial Cork-man who would look at a glass of Bushmills an’ say, “Never touched by Fenian hands… until now ~*sluprp*~”.


Leave a Reply

