Permissible Arms

One more tick in the to-do list

Posted in admin, us military by Karaka on 12 November 2009

The day job is kicking my ass right now, meaning I’m pulled away from what I’d rather be doing; namely, analyzing reports of Obama’s combat troop level decision in light of Amb. Eikenberry’s reservations. But since I don’t have the time nor the brainspace to do that, I’ll follow up on the Valour-IT project.

We’ve collectively raised over $100,000, which is just fantastic. Navy came in with a respectable third, bringing in $18,000. I’m so proud of our team! Thanks to everyone for participating, donating, and making this such a worthwhile event.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alec said, on 13 November 2009 at 02:16

    Is Karl Eikenberry any relation to Gill?

    • Karaka said, on 13 November 2009 at 09:37

      Not to my knowledge!

      Hey, I’m sure you saw this this morning, but Labour won Glasgow! What do you think it means?

  2. Alec said, on 13 November 2009 at 13:00

    Yes I did! As grusome as I think the current Labour administration is – not least, with an Attorney General (same thing) who thinks she doesn’t need to check the residency status of prospective employees – the SNP is worse… both with domestic politics, and the matter of having as a candidate (in an adjacent constituency) an actual unapologetic former member of the Muslim Brotherhood creaming-off UK taxpayers money for his family projects and Islamist goals.

    I ain’t axiomically opposed to Scottish independence, but our current attempts at furthering its aims suggest we don’t have the political intelligence for it – banking collapses, grievance, releasing Abdul Bassett Baby just to cock a snoop at your lot, Darian Disaster an’ all that.

    This was still only a by-election, with a poxy 33% turnout, but the 3,000 majority shows Labour was able to muster its grassroots support. The SNP candidate didn’t help by being the 4th choice who fibbed about his place-of-birth, had previously mocked a new university in the constituency and came across generally as a half-wit.

    I’m still preparing for a Westminster Tory government.

  3. […] I’m not going to read, view, or visit right now because, like Karaka, work is currently kicking my you-know-what too, and I’m tired, and I’ll just mark it […]

  4. A Brief Blog Break…. « OnParkStreet said, on 2 December 2009 at 15:07

    […] me that I’m SUPPOSED TO BE PRIORITIZING. I’ll stick to commenting at Inkspots and karakapend, post at Chicago Boyz (occasionally), and knock it off around here for awhile. Oy, the amount of […]


Leave a Reply

