Permissible Arms

Tuesday Errata

I’ve been pretty deep in a couple books–Åsne Seierstad’s A Hundred and One Days, the Oxford World Classic edition of the Qur’an, and Nate Fick’s One Bullet Away. My booklist keeps growing like Tennessee kudzu; I think at last count I had sixty-three books on my “remember to buy these” list, in addition to the teetering stack crowding my desk at home.

Even so, I’ve been following a couple things–Secs. Clinton and Gates defending McChrystal from the press backlash at GWU yesterday (and Walter Pincus’ editorial from today), the news of General Petraeus’ cancer diagnosis, the escalating Pakistani response to the Word Food Program, and the face of eastern Afghanistan. I think McCrystal is taking more shit than he deserves, and that it’s easy to jump all over the new guy in charge. It sucks yet is admirable that Petraeus seems to be taking cancer in stride, though it explains his recent absence from the press. And I’m rapidly realizing the more I learn about Afghanistan, the harder it becomes to maintain any black-and-white view.

Granted, I’m a philosopher first and a blogger second, so black-and-whites aren’t really my bag; I’ve always been more comfortable living in greys. But the two books I mention above, minus the Qur’an, are two very different pictures of the same space of time in the same nation, and I’ve been trying to reconcile them with minimal success.

Also, I can’t figure out how to put the VALOUR-IT widget on this blog, and I suspect I won’t be able to unless I purchase something from WordPress, which is very annoying. Any advice, blogosphere?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. onparkstreet said, on 7 October 2009 at 08:11

    Oh no, I have yet to put the Valour It widget on my wordpress blog…..looks like I will need to figure out how, too.

    If I find out, will post here.

    (Been lurking for a while, and, I’m with you on the reading list. When I stuck to fiction, I never felt overwhelmed. Now I’ve moved onto the COINosphere, my book lists keep growing, too. And, I have reading for the day job to do!!!)

    • karakapend said, on 7 October 2009 at 09:18

      I always felt overwhemled with fiction, too! In the sense that there was always far more to read than I had time to read. Hi, friend lurker! If you figure out the widget, lemme know.


Leave a Reply

